book reviews , different studio guests each week. Join us every Thursday between 12 and 1pm on Radio Scilly 107.9fm or log on to

Missed any programmes? See below for list of guests, books and other details discussed.

Friday, 18 September 2015

Luke Delaney – Cold Killing

review by showhost sept 2015
This is a debut novel by a British crime writer.  The main character is DI Sean Corrigan who reminded me a little of Tony Hill in the ‘Wire in the Blood’ series by Val Mc Dermid.
The similarity was because both had suffered abusive childhoods but both had used it to solve crimes and try to get inside the criminals head.  
However, Sean Corrigan is married and has two small children.  His wife, a doctor knows about his past and how he struggles to keep the demons at bay.
He’s not a psychic or clairvoyant but a cop with south Londons Murder Investigation Unit.  But his abusive childhood allows him to understand the ‘darkness’ in others who may have had an abusive past or may have just been ‘born bad’.
This killer is very clever, he understands how forensic evidence works, he understands how to leave nothing at the scene of his crimes. 
He understands that criminals are caught because the MO of each victim is the same, he makes sure his murder victims are different and the cause of death varies.

The story begins with the first killing and the thoughts of the perp, so we think we know who it is from the start.  It is a gripping, tense, thriller as the perp outwits the police as they chase him through London, a game of cat and mouse begins as another body turns up, the killer goading and mocking the police.  There is violence, graphic at times, but it’s in keeping with the perps character.

The blurb said ‘London-set debut crime novel with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective.( Delaney is not his real name)  Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride’.  Yes it is similar to Peter James, good story with twists and turns.  I will certainly read another of his. 

No comments: